One Slimmer New England Girl

Here in New England there are all kinds of treats that find their way to our cupboards and refrigerator. Now we are in the heart of sugaring season and my agenda has all sorts of wonderful true maple syrup recipes listed on it. With my husbands 20 sweet “tooths” and my carb-o-holic tendencies, we are doomed if we don’t do something about our diets quick. Even as I am writing this post, I am guilty (throws hands up) of looking at Vermont Maple Syrup recipes. Check out this stew recipe from The Vermont Maple Sugar Makers Association–

Vermont Maple Chunky Beef Stew

Serves 6

1/4 cup of flour salt and pepper to taste 2 cloves chopped garlic 1 large onion, sliced 1 stalk of chopped celery 1 1/2 lbs. beef, cut into half inch cubes 1 19 oz. can of tomatoes 1/2 cup dry red wine 1/2 cup pure Vermont maple syrup 4 medium size potatoes, cubed 2 large carrots, sliced

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Combine flour, beef and seasonings in a plastic bag and shake to coat beef. Sauté garlic and onion together in 1 tablespoon of olive oil until tender. Combine all ingredients into a casserole dish, pour in 1/2 cup of water, cover and bake for four hours. (Will work well in a slow cooker). Serve with Maple Oatmeal Bread and a green salad with Maple Vinaigrette.

UM….YUM. Who doesn’t like Stew?

You see, I digress! I love food! We don’t even eat a lot of junk food– just  a ton of no/no comfort foods such as homemade mac & cheese, and from scratch cheddar bacon biscuits. Sighs, we have both gained upwards of 15 lbs since I started really getting into my job and digging deeper to find fun projects and recipes. This business of junking and repurposing really sucks you in and drains you… lifting heavy furniture is tiring and writing for the blog can tire your eyes…. excuses. So now; there are no more excuses. Yesterday we were getting dressed for my great grandmothers calling hours, when both of us realized how tight our dress clothes were. Reality check! We are usually wearing comfortable paint splattered work clothes– so the truth was told when those Banana Republic Trousers made a waistline indentation in my stomach fat.

INSANITY

We ended up going to the calling hours where I saw my dad for the first time in a month or so. He lives about an hour from us in Glastonbury, Connecticut and wowza’s when I saw him, he has been doing the INSANITY workout dvds and lost almost 30 pounds! My dad has always had a gut since I can remember, and loves his pepsi & snickers– so to see that he lost 30 lbs, I was so excited! Now, I have to do it…

INSANITY HAS BEEN ORDERED & DELIVERED. My first step at becoming a slimmer New England Girl. Along with a revised diet and new found motivation ( not having the budet  to  purchase bigger clothes) you will be seeing a new me in 60 days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

