Luminous Day Dresser

As an empath, energy is very important, and there is energy in and around everything: including furniture. The Luminous Day dresser has great energy. I glided through the project from start to finish, never second guessing myself for any of the decisions I had to make. That is when my job is truly 140% fun!

Perhaps it’s also in the name; a very happy name associated with the bright yellow color it was painted. How could there be bad energy on a Luminous Day?

Sometimes when I get a lot of furniture, certain items just stand out from the rest.  Some I am more motivated to start and finish, others get started and pushed to the wayside because i’m just not feelin’ it.  It doesn’t have anything to do with the shape or size or patina, it just has a feeling about it!

Yellow Dresser Redo

Call me crazy but it’s sort of like picking up a book that you just can’t “get into” some people tell you not to put it down and just keep reading– and yes sometimes you have too– but most of the time, you don’t– move it aside and either you will go back to it or you won’t– it’s all fine.

So this dresser was a two day project of mine amidst a ton of stuff I have been working on for customers of mine. I never thought I would say this but I have a waiting list!

I sanded it down and re-stained the top. I left some of the original stain on the drawer edges because I knew I was going to be distressing it a little bit.  Primer, Benjamin Moore Paint & the original hardware makes this a one-of-a-kind. My favorite aspect of this piece is how the stained top ties in with the stained molding on the bottom. It just completes the look!

before and after yellow dresser

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

